Contact & Feedback
Site Survey

Driving Directions
Site Map
Terms & Conditions
Privacy Policy

Media/News Releases

<< Back

Secretary of State Certifies South Carolina’s 9 Electoral Votes for Pres. Trump & Vice Pres. Pence


COLUMBIA -- Secretary of State Mark Hammond convened the 2016 Electoral College Monday, December 19, 2016 at 11:00 AM in Columbia.  Unanimously casting their votes for Presidential nominee Donald J. Trump of New York, and Vice Presidential nominee Michael R. Pence of Indiana, were:
Donald Matthew Moore, At-large;
Glenn A. McCall, At-large;
Terry Hardesty, 1st Congressional District;
Jim S. Ulmer, Jr., 2nd Congressional District;
Brenda M. Bedenbaugh, 3rd Congressional District;
William E. Conley, 4th Congressional District;
Shery Smith, 5th Congressional District;
Moye Graham, 6th Congressional District; and
Jerry Hal Rovner, 7th Congressional District.

“As South Carolina’s Secretary of State, I am proud to certify the electoral votes that will be tallied by a joint session of Congress and officially elect the President and Vice President of the United States,” said Mark Hammond. “With this vote, we become part of our country’s great history and future.”

Glenn A. McCall was elected President of the Electoral College, and Brenda M. Bedenbaugh was elected Secretary.

South Carolina Educational Television (SCETV) provided coverage of the meeting, while Legislative Services Agency offered live streaming of the Electoral College on the South Carolina Legislature’s webpage.  SCETV will make the 2016 Electoral College video available on their webpage at  The video will also be available on the website of the South Carolina Legislature at


Contact: Renee S. Daggerhart
(803) 734-0629