Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Did you know that as of January 1, 2024, the Corporate Transparency Act enacted by Congress requires many companies to report beneficial ownership information to the US Treasury Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN)? Beneficial ownership information (BOI), as defined by FinCEN, is identifying information about the individuals who directly or indirectly own or control a company. Please review the BOI links on our website to see if you are required to report to FinCEN.

About Us

The Office of the Secretary of State is mandated by the South Carolina Code of Laws to serve as the state filing office for business corporations, nonprofit corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships and limited liability companies, as well as for all Uniform Commercial Code Article 9 secured transaction filings. The Secretary of State also serves as the agent for service of process for corporations that do not have authority to transact business in South Carolina, and serves as registered agent as otherwise provided by statute. In addition to business filings, the Secretary of State’s Office examines and files state trademarks, maintains the state notary public database, and issues commissions for elected officials and those appointed by the Governor.

The Secretary of State’s Office is also responsible for issuing all statewide cable franchises and serves as the repository for several types of municipal filings. The office handles the incorporation of municipalities and special purpose districts, the annexations of land, and the escheatment of real property in South Carolina. Finally, the Secretary of State’s Office regulates charitable organizations, professional fundraisers, nonprofit raffles, business opportunities, and employment agencies.

Please refer to the individual sections of our website to get additional information about each of our divisions. You may also refer to the frequently asked questions pages about the following divisions. The office hours for the Secretary of State are Monday through Friday from 8:30 am – 5:00 pm.